Guardian’s of the Galaxy: Volume 2: A Review

Now, I’m not the biggest fan of super-hero movies. I’m pretty tired of the usual tropes that consist of ‘white man saves world from unspeakable evil, and then gets the girl’. It’s tired and boring, and I wasn’t thoroughly impressed by the first movie in the Guardian’s of the Galaxy franchise, so I went into this movie with no real expectations, and I came out with some pretty mixed thoughts.

The movie starts with a really great scene introducing baby Groot dancing his heart out while the rest of the Guardians attempt to kill some sort of alien beast who’s trying to steal some batteries. It doesn’t really make sense that the beast would be trying to steal the batteries, mainly because it doesn’t seem to have arms, but Groot’s steals the scene, as he does with every scene he seems to be in, and he’s arguably one of the best parts of the movie.

For me, it read more as a comedy movie rather than an action movie. Chris Pratt has impeccable comedic timing and a universal sense of humour that has mass-appeal in it’s quirky likeability, and the same could be said for the rest of the cast.

Drax in particular, with his blunt statements and inability to understand when he’s said something inappropriate, is brilliantly written, despite the humour being a little too obvious for my tastes at times.

The plot in itself is nothing special. It’s far too predictable, and finding his long lost father for me, was worthy of an eye-roll.

The characters are what makes the movie shine, and Nebula in particular was a character that stood out to me. Loud, impressive and broken, Nebula was played fantastically by Karen Gillan, and quickly becomes one of the most realistic characters in the movie.

For the Guardian’s, things just seem to go their way, particularly in the last scene where Groot attempts to blow up the core. It just seems pointless to have the joke where Groot doesn’t understand which button to press take up a minute of screen time, only to have him press the right button when it comes to actually doing it. There was a whole host of other things that could have been done to destroy the core. Perhaps Pratt’s character could have used his newfound God powers to reach the core, perhaps it could have been destroyed during the Starlord’s fight with Ego. To me, having their plan work seamlessly took away from the plot and made it seem too easy. I much prefer having characters backed into a corner and having them have to fight their way out past hurdle after hurdle. It’s only then that I feel satisfied after watching a movie, because I know they went through hell to win.

Honestly? The movie was fun. It was fun and lighthearted and easy to watch. You didn’t need to have watched the first one in order to have a good time with this one, because the character’s spoke for themselves.

Despite the slightly lacking plot and predictable moments, it exceed any expectations I had, and was much better than the first movie, with a similar gut-wrenching ending.

The thing that annoyed me most though? The relationship between Gamora and Peter Quill. It felt forced. It felt pushy. It felt like there wasn’t any unspoken thing. To me, Gamora had more chance of getting with Mantis than she did with Quill, and I’m just tired of a man and a woman being on screen together having to instantly translate to a romantic relationship. They could have just been friends. They were great friends.

But maybe I’m wrong, maybe in the next movie they’ll be this wonderful power couple and I’ll question why I ever doubted them, but we’ll see. I liked this movie enough to want to go and see the next one, so we’ll see.

 

 

Leave a Reply

